Main

December 06, 2007

Chicano Database

NEW DATABASE IN UALBANY: CHICANO DATABASE

This bibliographic database is specialized in U.S. Latino issues. It provides access to bibliographic information on journal articles, books, book chapters, newspaper articles and anthologies. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological and educational literature.

Coverage: 1960s-

Scope:

- Extensive coverage on Mexican-Americans/Chicanos starting from the 1960s, with selective indexing from articles dating back to the early 1900s.

-Also covers the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.

- Subjects included: art, bilingual education, economics, education, folklore, gender studies, health, history, labor, language, literature, law, mental health, politics and sociology.

- Useful for courses focusing on race, class, gender and identity.

Number of periodicals included:

2,479 unique titles included

Number of records included:

Nearly 60,000 citations, including book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, and books.

October 02, 2007

lexis nexis tip sheet from pik yin

The new version of Lexis Nexis Academic has three main kinds of search forms: Easy Search form, Power Search form, and content-specific search forms (News, Legal, Business, and People).

Here are some hints to help you decide which form you should choose to start your search:

• Use the Easy Search form if you just need a quick answer to a simple query or you are not familiar with advanced searching methods or you are not sure which sources to use. Enter any terms or phrases, with or without connectors, and Easy Search will determine the best searching method (terms and connectors or natural language) based on what you entered.

• Use the Power Search form when you need broad flexibility not available on other search forms. You may browse and select specific sources which might not be available on other forms, search sections within a document, find terms and companies within the LexisNexis® SmartIndexing Technology™ feature (Index Terms), choose between natural language and terms and connectors searching, etc. It is also helpful when you have a general query, are searching in an unfamiliar area, or are searching across multiple content types.

• Use content-specific search forms (News, Legal, Business, and People) if you have a specific topic or category of searching in mind, such as Law Reviews. These forms don’t allow you to select a specific source, except those already listed on the “Select Sources” dropdown menu.


The following provides answers to some questions you may encounter when using Lexis Nexis Academic:

How would I search an article about, say, Iraq pullout, in Times Union (or other specific source)?

1. Use Power Search form in the General tab
2. Enter “Iraq pullout” in the search box
3. To select a specific source, which is Times Union, click on “Find More Sources …,” type “Times Union” in the “Find a source” box, and then check the source. Alternatively, you can select sources in the Browse Sources tab. The Browse Sources tab lists broad categories of sources which you can “click through” to find sources related to your search. You can also restrict the display by publication or content type.

How can I limit my legal search to certain courts?

For example, you want to find New York State Cases about abortion.

1. Use Power Search form in the General tab;
2. Enter “Abortion” in the search box;
3. To limit your results to New York State Cases only, click on “Find More Sources…”
4. On the “Browse Sources” page, select the following choices on each step:
Step 1: By “Publication”
Step 2: Filter by “United States” and “New York”
Step 3: Click on “Cases” folder and then check “NY State Cases, Combined”
5. Click on the “OK – Continue” button to go back to the Power Search form to continue the search.

In the News tab, can I select multiple sources in the “select sources” box?

Not really. If you want to select multiple SPECIFIC sources, you can’t do it in the News tab. Instead, please use Power Search form in the General tab, and then do the following steps:

1. Enter “Iraq pullout” in the search box
2. This time, you would like to search the topic in two newspapers, including Times Union and New York Times. To do this, click on “Find More Sources …,” enter “Times Union” in the “Find a source” box, and then check “Times Union” on the source list.
3. To select the next source, type the newspaper name, which is “New York Times,” in the keyword search box in the top left corner of the same page. You can continue to add more sources in this way. The number of sources you select appears at the top of the page. Alternatively, you can select sources in the Browse Sources tab. The Browse Sources tab lists broad categories of sources which you can “click through” to find sources related to your search. You can also restrict the display by publication or content type.

September 20, 2007

University in the HS - access to databases

Hello,

We received an Ask a Librarian IM query from a high school librarian about remote access to our databases for University in the High School students.

I thought it might be worthwhile to explain a bit about this program to everyone who works REF, in case you ever get questions about this program

at any of the REF desks.

U Albany’s University in the High School program has been around for a long time. It is a very large program—last year over 12,000 high school students from across the state participated. Through this program high school students taking advanced level courses at their high school from their own teachers

can earn undergraduate credits from U Albany. The students pay U Albany a modest tuition ($120 per course) and no other fees.

These students are registered here with the status Undergraduate – UHS.

Some problematic issues have arisen in recent years, as this program has grown rapidly. The two that I deal with regularly are those

involving access to services and databases that our regular FTE student body are entitled to. I receive questions from high school librarians

and from teachers asking how the students can access our databases remotely, and if they are eligible for ILL, UA Delivery, etc.

The answer to those two queries is, NO. It’s a sticky situation, because these students have barcodes and are considered undergrad students,

and they received official transcripts from U Albany with their grades and credits, and, they do have UG level borrowing privileges.

However, these 12,000+ students are not counted in our FTE student enrollment for the campus, and they do not pay fees of any kind, other than the $120/course. Therefore, they do not have full privileges here as regularly enrolled, tuition and fee-paying students.

Some of us library people have had meetings with the administrators of the UHS program on campus (Greg Stevens and Karen Chico-Hurst) about the necessary restrictions the libraries must place on these students access. They understand and have accepted the need for restrictions. When I get a request from a UHS teacher for remote access, I suggest that they encourage their students to go to their nearest SUNY campus to use the databases on site. I also tell them that for ILL they must use their own local resources.

Here’s a link to info on UHS –in case you’re interested:

http://www.albany.edu/uhsp/

Sorry to be so long-winded!

BV


September 17, 2007

Readers Guide Retrospective Trial

We have a trial of the Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 on libstaff through October. This trial is available to students. I am working with Laura to put a link to it somewhere on the database page so students can access it. I'll let you know when that is complete. I'd appreciate any comments on the trial. Thanks,
Jane

July 27, 2007

Trial of Testing & Education Reference Center

Hi all,

We have a trial of the Gale Testing & Education Reference Center on libstaff. It has college and scholarship information (from Petersons) as well as test preparation ebooks and practice tests. The college information covers 4,000 accredited schools and 30,000 graduate programs.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Jane

July 12, 2007

Database News

Hi all,

XReferPlus has changed their name to Credo Reference.

Digital Dissertations will be Dissertations & Theses as of 7/22/07.

The Database Finder will be updated to reflect the new names.

Jane

June 03, 2007

SourceOECD

Colleagues,

SourceOECD is now available through the Database Finder. This database provides electronic access to all OECD statistical databases, monographs, periodicals and working papers. Individual titles have not yet been cataloged.

In the past, we have had print access to a handful of thematic standing orders and some periodicals. The only items not covered in our SourceOECD subscription are International Energy Agency statistics.

This resource should be useful for questions in economics, political science, geography, education, area studies and more. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!

--Mary

February 13, 2007

ISBN displays in WorldCat/message from OCLC

Temporary ISBN display changes for FS, WCRS, and WCAS

The ISBN display will temporarily change in the WorldCat and Group Catalog databases as seen in FirstSearch, WorldCat Resource Sharing, and WorldCat Collection Analysis Services. ISBN searches will continue to cover all variations of ISBNs, but the display of the record may show only one version of the ISBN for several months while OCLC adds the needed information into records.

Any 10-digit ISBN now has an equally unique corresponding 13-digit ISBN beginning with the numbers 978. When publishers’ 10-digit ISBN run is finished, new ISBNs will 979. ISBNs starting with 979 will have no corresponding 10-digit ISBNs.

Through February 17, 2007 any record in WorldCat and Group Catalogs with a 10-digit ISBN or a 13-digit ISBN starting with 978 will display both ISBNs. Starting February 18, both ISBNs will remain searchable, but only one ISBN will display while OCLC starts to insert the corresponding ISBN into the stored data of all records. It will take several months for every 10-digit ISBN to display with both it’s paired 13-digit ISBNs. In the first few days, the newest records may have the 13-digit ISBN starting with 978 but not the 10 digit ISBN displaying. These records will be converted first, so that they will soon show both ISBNs. Then over the next several months the rest of the records in WorldCat and Group Catalogs will start to display both ISBNs also.

Throughout this time all ISBNs will remain searchable, even if both ISBNs are not visible in the record display.

Dawn Hendricks
Manager, Cooperative Collection Services Platform

February 08, 2007

Ebsco database content and interface updates

On the desktops of the three reference workstations are short cuts to PowerPoint slide shows from the Ebsco Academic "update" luncheon held at ALA Midwinter. Each shortcut label begins with EBSCO.

Information from the Ebsco "academic" lunch update held at ALA Midwinter

Academic Search Complete: Adding more full text titles; to be released in April 2007
EconLit fulltext: of particular interest is the slide comparing EconLit Full Text with Ebsco's Business Source Complete
Humanities International Complete: describes product's full text journal holdings and monographs
Points of View Reference Center: to be available March 2007

Description of Business interface enhancement slated for Summer 2007; and a number of signifcant enhancements to the Ebscohost platform are to be implemented also in Summer 2007; slides also detail planned enhancements for the Literary Reference Center -- one slide of particular interest compares the Ebsco product to the Gale product.

Carol Anderson

February 02, 2007

Lexis Nexis newspaper searching results

When using Lexis Nexis to search the Jerusalem Post, patron executed a search with key word "Lebanon" and gets no results for October 2006 forward. However, when going directly to the Jerusalem Post archives site, patron found 21 articles for October 21, 2006 -- as an example. I am still awaiting a call back from Lexis Nexis since they are looking into the problem. I do not know if this affects other newspaper files but beware. Similar problem reported last month concerning Jersulaem Post to Lexis Nexis and the service folks "fixed" it, however, the rep was not specific as to what had gone wrong.

If you need to telephone Lexis Nexis, try 800-897-3419 [it's a bit difficult to sift through the website and to locate contact information for a real person] And I first had to get a "billing group" identification prior to speaking with customer service representative -- I was given this number 108t6x

Carol Anderson

October 30, 2006

Book Review Digest Plus and Retrospective

We've purchased the retrospective file (1905-1982) for Book Review Digest Plus and updated the url so that when you're in Book Review Digest Plus, you are searching the entire file, 1905+. However, Book Review Digest Retrospective is also in the database finder by itself, so you can search 1905-1982.

The print volumes will be going to storage.

October 17, 2006

Lexis workaround for Sources tab

Colleagues:

Just off the phone with a kind representative from LEXIS NEXIS. Apparently several of us from Albany have asked “why isn’t the SOURCES tab working?”

Until it’s “fixed” – here’s the work-around….when connecting to LEXIS NEXIS through the database finder, it takes us to this address:

https://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe/

notice the https

if you eliminate the s so you’re sending to http and not https [send to http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe/] and press send, you can then get into the SOURCES file

Carol

March 02, 2006

Scopus Update

I originally posted this to my Science Resources blog, but I think it may be worth posting here:

The Charleston Advisor contained an extensive review of Web of Science vs. Scopus in vol.6 (3) January 2005. The authors of the review, Louise Deis and David Goodman, provide an Update on Scopus in The Charleston Advisor, vol. 7 (3) January 2006. They found that there are still serious gaps in Scopus. See the review and update for more.

February 22, 2006

American Statistics Digital

Hi all,

American Statistics Digital is now available on the database finder (and soon to be in Minerva). It contains full text PDF access to all of the American Statistics Index documents from 2003 forward!

In addition:

ASI abstracts and indexes from 1973 to present

Basic and Research edition tables (which contain not only the ASI documents but selected full text of titles from IIS and SRI as well)

It is pretty neat and chock full of cool government documents stuff.

Thus spoke the documents librarian.

Enjoy.

Cathy

February 15, 2006

Proxy Authentication

All,

This morning, Vicki removed close to 2000 patron records from the proxy authentication file. These patrons were input manually (I'll spare you the technical details) in November 2004 to ensure a smooth transition for authentication right after we migrated to ALEPH. These records were inadvertantly left in the file so we have been providing access beyond the date when access should have terminated. Those removed are no longer active employees nor students. You may get calls requesting assistance from some of those users who just lost access. You may refer these callers to me and I will verify their status and explain why access was terminated.

Brenda

December 16, 2005

ERIC

From: ERIC News [mailto:ericnews@csc.com]
Sent: Friday, August 12, 2005 1:10 PM
To: Walker, Judith
Subject: ERIC Announces New Database Content - August 2005

ERIC Announces New Database Content - August 2005

ERIC is pleased to announce that the ERIC database at www.eric.ed.gov is now being updated with new 2004 and 2005 education-related materials. ERIC has added 5,400 new bibliographic journal records (320 journal articles are available in full-text), and an additional 1,100 free full-text documents from publishers and organizations that signed new authorization agreements with ERIC this year. More agreements are in progress with previous providers to ERIC and newly identified sources of high-quality education literature. The ERIC database is updated weekly with newly acquired materials.

The ERIC updates add more than 200 comprehensively indexed journals to the database, including titles from publishers such as Blackwell, Taylor & Francis, Baywood, and other distinguished publishers of education journals. Most of the newly added articles are peer reviewed. Peer-reviewed materials can now be easily identified by checking the new "Peer Reviewed" field in the ERIC Search Results.

In addition to indexed journals, ERIC is recognized for its wealth of grey literature resources that are not included in other major databases. Grey literature orginates from a wide variety of contributing organizations, including the U.S. Department of Education, federal, state, and private entities including: the Government Accounting Office, the Education Commission for the States, the Council of Chief State School Officers, Educational Testing Service, the Success for All Foundation, and the Southern Regional Education Board, among others. Submitted materials include research reports, conference papers, dissertations, literature reviews, and other documents in education.

Visit the News section of the ERIC Web site at www.eric.ed.gov for quick links to information on new content, lists of ERIC journals, and other recent enhancements. Notable new features include improvements to the ERIC search function, and Journals Indexed in ERIC. In addition to these features, more enhancements are under development and will be announced this summer in the ERIC Web site's News section.